h1

The DWR Champagne Chair Contest™ Results 2008

February 5, 2008

Every year I think I will enter this contest after the first of the year.  It always comes at a time that just doesn’t work for my schedule.  This year I was determined to enter something.  I put together a piece from a design I had made a few years ago and then adjusted it.  It was not chosen of the top 50.  I am not one who likes to not win, however I am starting to learn that there is much to be learned in not winning.  Either way, in a couple of hours I produce a mini designed chair out of cork the gold champagne metal cap and the wiring – shown below.  Below that is a copy of The DWR Champagne Chair Contest™ Results 2008.  Click at the link at the bottom of the page to see the original article.

Waverly Chair by Darin M. White
Waverly Chair – Darin M. White
_______________________________________________

Design Uncorked The DWR Champagne Chair Contest™The DWR Champagne Chair Contest™ Cork Image

The DWR Champagne Chair Contest™ was a raucous success this year with over 500 entries coming in digitally from all over the world.
(Just think of all the packaging material we saved.)
We’re thrilled to announce the winners:
Grand Prize: Miwa Kleyla’s Block B Chair
Staff Favorite: Matthew Glaysher’s Weekend Bender
Popular Vote: Akai Yang’s 2-Player

Special thanks to our judges:

  • Dave Alhadeff, founder of The Future Perfect
  • Tord Boontje, designer
  • Christopher C. Deam, designer/architect (designed the DWR Airstream travel trailer)
  • Jennifer Morla, chief creative officer at DWR
  • Henry Urbach, curator of design and architecture at SFMOMA

Miwa Kleyla’s Block B Chair
Matthew Glaysher’s Weekend Bender
Akai Yang’s 2-Player

Our top 50 chairs have embarked on a national Studio tour. See the chart below to find a Champagne Chair Tour Reception near you:

Champagne Chair Events
Locations Event Date Event Time
Brooklyn Tuesday, February 12 6-8pm
Greenwich Wednesday, February 13 5-7pm
Providence Thursday, February 21 5-7pm
Adams Morgan Monday, February 25 6:30pm
Princeton Thursday, February 28 6-8pm
Charlotte Wednesday, March 5 6-8pm
West Palm Beach Tuesday, March 11 6-8pm
Boulder Monday, March 17 6-8pm
Southlake Thursday, March 20 6-8pm
Columbus Tuesday, March 25 6-8pm
Evanston Saturday, March 29 6-8pm
St. Louis Thursday, April 3 6-8pm
Milwaukee Tuesday, April 8 6-8pm
New Orleans Monday, April 14 6-8pm
Las Vegas Boca Park Thursday, April 17 6-8pm
San Diego Tuesday, April 22 6-8pm
Manhattan Beach Monday, April 28 6-8pm
Santa Barbara Thursday, May 1 6-8pm
Sacramento Tuesday, May 6 6-8pm
San Jose Monday, May 12 6-8pm
Tigard Saturday, May 17 6-8pm

original article

About these ads

2 comments

  1. [...] can measure no more than 4 inches in any dimension.  Here are links to the 2007 winners and the 2008 winners.  Winners are judged by a panel of industry experts.  Deadline for entry for the 2009 contest is [...]


  2. Playing off of DWR champagne chair comp….

    designplusart.wordpress.com

    Please join us!



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 285 other followers

%d bloggers like this: